Project Life App and PicFrame App Review Using the Canon Selphy 910

Welcome to Quick Tip Tuesday! Although this may not become a weekly feature of my blog and YouTube channel–I would like to have a weekly feature, but best laids plans of mice and women, you know–I am going to add it as a monthly feature, at the very least.

Today’s video was a request from a subscriber regarding what apps to use to print pictures on the Canon Selphy.  I’ve tested a lot of collage-type photo apps and discovered two that work well for me, once of which stands out upon comparison and will become my go to.

PicFrame has 36 layout possibilities. You can choose to round the corners on your photos. You can add color and patterns to the collage borders. Unfortunately, you can’t remove the borders, so you cannot print photos without the collage border.  It’s a big downfall for me.

Despite that, PicFrame was my favorite collage app until I realized that the Project Life app, which I probably won’t use for actual scrapbooking very often, also gives its users the ability to print photos in about 19 configurations ranging in size from 12″x12″ (assuming you have a wide format printer or are planning to have your photo printed elsewhere) to 4″x6″ to 6″x8.” Each size (except the 12×12) has multiple layout options, allowing for 1 to 6 photos per collage. None of the layouts have borders between photos, which is exactly what I wanted.

All of which brings me to today’s video in which I test these two apps with the Canon Selphy.  The Canon Selphy is an amazing sublimation printer and I absolutely love mine.  But I do know some users have taken issue with the way the Selphy crops photos during processing, and I’ve found I often face the same issue. The Project Life app, with appropriate settings, changed that for me and I ‘m even more happy with the Selphy than I was before.

Please let me know in the comments if you have another favorite app to use with the Canon Selphy.

Watch the review video here:

 

