Trick-Or-Treat with Laura’s Loft Shop & Hop


Laura_s Loft Shop & Hop

This blog post is part of the Laura’s Loft October Shop and Hop.  You probably arrived here from Jasmine’s blog.  If you need to go back toLaura_s Loft Previous button her blog, just click on the Previous Hop Stop button.  To start at the beginning of the hop, head on over to Laura’s Blog. There are some amazing products featured by our cardmaking artists, so be sure you visit every stop along the way!

Guest designers for October:
Jasmine Burgess- http://journeywithjasmine.blogspot.com/2015/10/lauras-loft-blog-hop_14.html
LeeAnn Mckinney: http://mimiscraftyabyss.blogspot.com/2015/10/lauras-loft-trick-or-treat-shope-hop.html


And now, for my card…026

The video I made while I was creating this Teacher Thank You card was plagued by a comedy of errors. Camera troubles, audio difficulties, just plain human error: you name it, I dealt with it while trying to make this surprisingly simple card. So the YouTube video for the card is a bit slap dash (you’ve been warned) and doesn’t show the entire process of making the card like I usually do. My most sincere (and most definitely irritated) apologies.

Despite all the troubles, I love how this card came out.

It’s fall-inspired even though I didn’t use “traditional” fall colors. For me part of autumn is back to school, parent-teacher conferences, teacher appreciation days, etc.  It’s always nice to thank our teachers early in the year!

This quick card would be perfect for that.  It’s 027simple, pretty, and a little different from my usual cards. The stamped Gorjuss girl is a lot more cutesy and feminine than my typical choice and I’m okay with that. Sometimes it’s good to step out of the comfort zone.

Using the We R Memory Keepers Photo Sleeve Fuse (and Fuseables) to make this card was another step on the off-ramp of my comfort zone.

Prior to making this card, I’ve generally used the Fuse for scrapbooking. I’ve fused two page protectors together to get a look of continuity in a two page spread. (See my video and blog post on that, here.) I’ve used the Fuse to close the tops of pocket page scrapbooking protectors to seal in embellishments. I’ve also divided page protector pockets into smaller sections. But using the Fuse in cardmaking is a definite departure for me.

I also admit to some trepidation in using only the Fuse to adhere down most of the elements. I’m a confirmed Scotch ATG aficionado, with dabblings in Tombow, Scor-Tape, Glossy Accents, Ranger MultiMedia, and Zig 2-Way glue.  Using almost no adhesive of any kind on this card just seems horribly wrong!

But the simplicity of the process more than quelled my anxiety on the adhesive front. I filled the acetate FUSEable pocket with sequins and adhered it to the back of the card front using the Fuse.  Then I attached the card front to the card base, also using the Fuse.  I went over the edges several times with the Fuse roller and rolled the Fuse along in random places on the card front to add that bit of e20151012_105929xtra texture. It’s a little like adding a stitched detail with the sewing machine but so much faster.

For my stamped image, I used Neenah Classic Crest Solar White 110 lb. cardstock and Copic-friendly Memento Tuxedo Black ink.  I used Copics to color in the Gorjuss Dear Apple stamp and adhered it to the card using my trusty ATG gun. That was it!  Aside from the Copic coloring, which still takes me an incredibly long time, the card took 5-10 minutes to complete.  (Quick note: all the paper products except the Gorjuss stamped image are We R Memory Keepers FUSEables – card base, card front, embellishments, and the sentiments.  I got my bundle from HSN.)

You can check out the full video for my card here:

If you have any questions or just want to say hi, I’d love to hear from you in the comments section! Don’t forget to leave a comment to be eligible for the giveaway!  (Details below.)


Laura is hosting a giveaway for her October blog hop! Click on the link to head over to her Facebook page and check out the giveaway prize! The giveaway begins on 10/14/2015 at 09:00 AM (Eastern Time (US & Canada)) and ends on 10/20/2015 at 12:00 PM (Eastern Time (US & Canada).

TO ENTER:

1. Follow Laura’s Loft on IG @InLaurasLoft, like the IG Hop/Giveaway post and tag a friend. Tag as many people as you like but only one tag per comment, please.
2. Follow Laura’s Loft store page on facebook https://www.facebook.com/Lauras.Loft.Shop
3. Leave a comment at each stop on the October blog hopLaura_s Loft next button

The next stop on this hop is Emma’s blog, so click the Next Hop Stop button to head over there and see her amazing creation.

If you get lost along the way, here are the full list of hoppers:

1. Laura’s Loft- http://www.lauralscott.com/trick-or-treat-hop-shop/

2. Deana Benson-http://www.designcreativelybling.com/2015/10/trick-or-treat-with-laura-loft.html

3. Robbie Rubala- http://inkedx2.blogspot.com/search/label/LL

4. Jasmine Burgess- http://journeywithjasmine.blogspot.com/2015/10/lauras-loft-blog-hop_14.html

5. Cindy Dooley – YOU ARE HERE

6. Emma Hall- http://heartofcraft.blogspot.com/2015/10/autumn-beauty-with-lauras-loft.html

8. Joy Hadden – http://piecesofjoyhadden.blogspot.com/2015/10/lauras-trick-or-treat-shop-hop.html

9. Lisa Bedigian – http://royalpumpkinart.blogspot.com/2015/10/lauras-trick-or-treat-shop-and-hop.html

10. LeeAnn McKinney – http://mimiscraftyabyss.blogspot.com/2015/10/lauras-loft-trick-or-treat-shope-hop.html


—Supplies—

—Connect with Me—

7 thoughts on “Trick-Or-Treat with Laura’s Loft Shop & Hop

Comments are closed.