Stampin’ Up! Best is Yet to Come Card

For today’s card, I used a technique I first learned about on Amy R’s blog, Prairie Paper and Ink.

I started with a  sentiment from the Best Thoughts Stampin’ Up! hostess set, stamped in Versamark Ink and heat embossed with American Crafts Zing! Clear Embossing Powder.

After creating a simple “smooshed” watercolor background using Peacock Feather Distress Ink, I removed the heat-set embossing powder with a regular household iron, revealing the unblemished, white watercolor cardstock.

I adhered the stamped hydrangea image that I watercolored with more Distress Ink–Barn Door and Cracked Pistachio–onto the front of the card with foam squares and then attached the watercolor card front to the red Doodlebug cardstock card base using 3M foam tape.

I kept the inside of the card simple – just Neenah Classic Crest Solar White 110 lb. cardstock stamped in Ranger Archival ink with the same hydrangea image from the front of the card.

I love the high contrast of the color palette and the dimension achieved from the foam adhesive.

 

Watch how I created this card on my YouTube video:

http://static.inlinkz.com/ppr.js

http://static.inlinkz.com/ppr.js

