Stampin’ Up! Giggle Greetings Cardmaking and DIY Stamp Positioning Tool

Many of you have probably already seen the MISTI stamp positioning tool or even already have one.  I’ve been hesitant to purchase one because I’m more scrapper than cardmaker and couldn’t see a lot of use for me with the 8.5″x11″ format currently available.  I would have been first in line to get one if it had allowed for 12×12 paper.  Since it didn’t though, I haven’t hit the go button to buy it yet.

On the other hand, it’s a great concept for a tool and if they ever produce a 12×12 format, I’m there.  In the meantime, I repurposed an empty, plastic DVD case to mimic the functions of the MISTI tool in a smaller format that I am likely to use. Using a printable transparency sheet, 2 sheets of craft foam, and an empty DVD case I found at a thrift store for 9 cents, and a free, printable grid on the Internet, I created a simple tool that allows me to position my stamps exactly where I want them and restamp, if needed, to get perfect coverage.  My DIY stamp positioning tool will never take the place of the MISTI, because so much time and thought was clearly put into the design of that tool, but it works for me, for my purposes.

I used my DIY stamp positioning tool to create this fun birthday card, using the Stampin’ Up! Giggle Greetings Stamp Set again.  I watercolored the image using Ranger Distress Ink in several colors, including three of the new 2015 colors: Twisted Citron, Abandoned Coral, and Fossilized Amber.  I love the new line of colors and can’t wait to get the newest color, Hickory Smoke, which is a great, rich neutral gray.

 

Watch the YouTube video:


2 thoughts on “Stampin’ Up! Giggle Greetings Cardmaking and DIY Stamp Positioning Tool

Comments are closed.