Mixed Media Scrapbooking Layouts

Lately, I’m obsessed with the mixed media trend in scrapbook layouts.  I love the freedom I feel when I start covering a blank canvas with ink and gesso and paint and texture medium.

It’s a little like art class in school, when the teacher had you put someone’s worn button-up shirt and roll up the sleeves.  You knew you were going to get messy and there were just no better days.  I mean, construction paper ring garlands were great, but nothing compared to the papier mache days.

I used similar technique on both of the layouts below.  I started with Claudine Helmuth sticky back 12×12 canvas, and then started layering on ink.  I like my layouts to give the illusion of a lot of texture without bulk.

I went through a very brief Swirlydoos-inspired phase when I first started scrapbooking.  The result was one album that held about 12 completed layouts because the bulk filled up the album quickly.  I learned after just a few months that the super-dimensional layouts were not for me. Don’t get me wrong.  They’re gorgeous and some of the ladies over there are pure artists.  But it isn’t my style anymore.

The titles and/or names in these layouts were cut out on my Silhouette Cameo 2.  (LOVE it!!!!) The wooden embellishments and hearts are Studio Calico.  The sequins are from Doodlebug.  The paper came from my stash of scraps.  I used Tim Holtz stencils, Ranger Distress Ink, Studio Calico Mister Hueys, and some Plaid Folk Art acrylic paint.

2015-01-23 12.45.52

2015-01-25 22.20.15

